NADONA Scholarship graphic

NADONA Announces Stephanie Carroll Scholarship Award Recipients

June 16, 2024

NADONA/LTC Announces the Stephanie Carroll Memorial Scholarship Recipients Sponsored by PharMerica

June 5, 2024, Cincinnati, Ohio – The National Association Directors of Nursing Administration in Long-Term Care (NADONA/LTC) announces the winners of its Stephanie Carroll Memorial scholarships.

The Stephanie Carroll Memorial Scholarship Awards are in memory of Stephanie Carroll, a long-time valued NADONA/LTC employee. The scholarships are intended for nursing students enrolled in an accredited nursing program or in an undergraduate program who have chosen long-term care or geriatrics as their practice area after graduation.

Our past Executive Director Sherrie Dornberger said it so well ““We are so proud to partner with PharMerica for over 10 years to award these scholarships to deserving members of our CAREFORCE!! With the severe shortage of CAREFORCE staff, we need to encourage and reinforce the importance of supporting them to achieve their highest potential to assist and care for the residents, their families and loved ones who depend upon us and our well-trained and educated staff!”

Lisa Bowen, PharMerica’s Vice President of Marketing, stated, “We are honored to support the advancement of nurses with these scholarship awards. The tireless dedication and compassion of those who choose long-term care as their profession directly translates into driving quality outcomes for facilities and helping residents live their best life. We wish the award winners the best in their educational and professional pursuits and thank them for their commitment to some of our country’s most vulnerable.”

The 2024 recipients and their award amounts, paid directly to their college/university to assist with their nursing education, are:

Dorje Khando Gurung $5,000 Roshane Harris Milling $1,000
Lakisha Chinn $2,500 Hannah Marie Lajoie $1,000
Kiki Walls $2,500 Shawn Michael Breidel $1,000
Aljen Perida Cumbess $1,000 Lilian Nabiryo $1,000
Sara Guilbeault $1,000 Sarah Kiernan $1,000
Noelle Faithe Arfons $1,000 Christina Diem Dombal $1,000
Abigail Michelle Burnett $1,000

Award winners were required to complete an application that included their university information as well as a narrative describing why they are seeking their degree and how receiving this scholarship will enhance their nursing practice. Selection is made by a committee that is composed of NADONA/LTC members.

Information on the 2025 Stephanie Carroll Memorial Scholarship application will be available September 1, 2024, at